Making perfect loops with Excel

I was trying to find a way to easily make loops in the map editor for MTA. It sucks trying to place each piece one by one. I decided to try to calculate the coordinates and rotations in Excel. The spread sheet I made accepts input for the following parameters.

center coordinates (the coordinates of the loop in the world)

radius of the loop

# of pieces to use for the loop

offset (lateral distance between entrance and exit points)

The results were very good. This is a loop with radius 30, 44 pieces and an offset of 20.

mta-screen0006.jpg

mta-screen0007.jpg

mta-screen0009.jpg

As of now the spread sheet can only be used to make loops along the x axis and the data exporting part is a little tricky. Here it is if anyone is interested.

MTA Loop Generator

I'm looking for suggestions on how to make this program more efficient and possibly add more parameters. I am not a programmer so I don;t think there is much more I can do with it.

• Replies 128
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

maybe you could let us input how many loopings the excel file makes,

on the pictures it only shows one looping

but maybe making two loopings behind each other,

like you'll have to give a parameter "how much loopings"?

could that be possible?

Well, I actually just made the excel sheet to prove that it could be done. I never intended to distribute it as a program. As far as a front end and a better tutorial, I'm afraid there is not much else I can do. I have some theories on how to improve what I have but lack the programming skills to impliment them. We need somone who can build a program using my equations. It could have a nice frontend GUI and would automatially generate a text file with the values input into the correct syntax.

What i'm saying is that I require help to to improve the program anymore.